Review: The Expatriates

The Expatriates
The Expatriates by Corinne O’Flynn
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I received an ARC of this book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

This book is a perfect read while listening to the Skyrim soundtrack. I’m going to be honest. You’re reading experience will be GREATLY increased if you listen to the Skyrim OST while reading this book.

The writing proves to be very readable and everything flows pretty well. The world-building is very solid. In fact I really like this world and I haven’t fallen in love with a world for a pretty long time. If anything the only two complaints I have about this book are that 1. Jim occasionally feels like a girl. Especially in the beginning, there were moments where I felt like “this is totally a girl reaction”.

The second complaint being that I feel like the writing doesn’t have an air of broad and epicness like I’d like it to have. It’s not bad writing, but it doesn’t make me feel awe-inspired like the Skyrim soundtrack did. (Which is why I suggest listening to it, because it fills in on your reading experience.)

But, overall, a very good read.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

