Lame-O New Gmail Themes

I’m very angry today because for the first time in like forever, I finally had some time to mess around with my Gmail and I decided that it was prime time to change my theme, because quite frankly, I was getting a little sick and tired of have just a pagoda tree at the bottom of my screen. So I go in and decide to choose the Terminal theme, which I remembered with really really cool.

Unfortunately that didn’t seem to be true anymore.

What once turned the entire screen into black and green was now nothing more than a plain white on black theme with a blinking green cursor on the top right corner that doesn’t even do anything.

The new terminal theme. That red is covering stuff not for your eyes.
The new terminal theme. That red is covering stuff not for your eyes.
And if you couldn't find the cursor, it's right here. Blinking forever.
And if you couldn’t find the cursor, it’s right here. Blinking forever.

How boring is that? It’s literally the dark theme with a cursor.

Can you see the difference? It's Terminal on the left and Dark on the right.
Can you see the difference? It’s Terminal on the left and Dark on the right.

Being a bright person, I knew that Terminal definitely had to be cooler than just that for me to have such a deep impression of it. So naturally, I went ahead and Googled it to see if that infinity flashing cursor ever did anything other than flash. The answer was no. I proceeded to look up the old version of the terminal theme and guess what I found?

I don’t even understand why Google thought it would be a good idea to change this awesome thing into something completely the same at everything else. I also found out that lots of people were outraged because of these updates. (Which I can understand, but on the other hand, getting really upset because of how an interface looks? Not really that necessary.)

To end on a good note, I saw some of the old themes and submersed myself into nostalgic thoughts which made me happy.

Leave a Reply

