The Thieving House: Chapter 1.4

(by: CyanideBliss)

Carl was still making his way around the house trying to find waffle mix when he spied Lilia coming back already. He wasn’t really hungry, just nervous.

“What did he say?”

Lilia sighed.

“I told him we’re going.”

“What?!” Carl looked bewildered for a moment. “Oh no, oh no no no no, I am not going risk-taking with you crazy people.”

“Don’t lump me with him,” she said, rolling her eyes.

“You- I-” Carl didn’t know what to say for a moment. “Oh, just don’t drag me in. Please… I- ”

Lilia cut him off short with a wave. “It’s prime time you get out into the world.”

Carl’s eyes widened and he stiffened up.

“You sound just like Adam.”

Crap, he was trying to stand his ground. “Hey, he’s got a point. The world is getting more dangerous and the only way to adjust is getting used to what’s around us.”

“Why would you let him convince you?”

Lilia crossed her arms. “Haven’t you considered for one moment that maybe you’re the only one who isn’t curious about the world? That maybe, your fear limits me sometimes? That just maybe, there’s a tiny chance that I could use an adventure or two? Have you ever thought about that?”

“No,” he said blankly.

“The only reason I was concerned about this is you.” She jabbed a finger at him and he jumped. She glared at him for a few moments. “But now that I think about it, you could afford to make a sacrifice for me sometime.” She walked upstairs to her room and shut him out.

Leave a Reply

