Wasteful

Let me be straightforward and tell you right now: I hate being wasteful.

In fact, we probably all do. I mean come on, who doesn’t get a guilty feeling when they go ahead and throw out a salad because you just “weren’t in the mood”? But it isn’t just materialistic wasting that annoys me. What I hate the most is when people waste time.

Time is precious! I know I sound cliche but it really is! In our school, if you don’t take a lot of classes, you get these empty blocks of time called free periods (I hope that name seems intuitive). Now I have this friend that has lots of these free periods. I don’t know how many exactly, but definitely many. So every time I see her, she’s always wandering around campus with nothing to do. And I’m thinking, don’t you have something more productive to do?

I always ask her what’s she’s up to. And she always (and I mean always) responds “Nothing. I don’t know what to do.”

All I can think right now is, you can’t be frikking serious…

Alright. Let’s think about it. How many 45 minute blocks of free time can you get per week on average? How many times do you get to spend these 45 minutes blocks wandering around because you really absolutely have nothing to do?

That’s right. Close to none.

Yet this friend of mine does it habitually. I can’t stand it. Even wasting your time surfing the web seems better to this mindless wandering. You don’t even get a good workout from it. I don’t understand. Does she not have a life other than homework and school?

Anyways. I’m currently quite confused and upset.

Why can’t I have the time to mindlessly wander around campus because I have absolutely NOTHING to do?

2 thoughts on “Wasteful

  1. Time is precious – something that we can NEVER get back. I’d go so far as to suggest your concerns about how your friend spends their time are total waste of yours eh! lol

Leave a Reply

